Skip to main content

Judith M. Tanur

NORC Board of Trustees

Judith is Distinguished Teaching Professor Emerita, Department of Sociology, at Stony Brook University. She is a Fellow of the American Statistical Association, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the Association for Psychological Science, an elected member of International Statistical Institute, and recipient of ASA’s Founders’ Award. Judith was a member of the Committee on National Statistics of the National Research Council, chairing its Advanced Research Seminar on Cognitive Aspects of Survey Methodology. She also was an ASA/NSF/BLS Senior Research Fellow and served on the ASA Advisory Committee for SIPP, as well as NSF Panels and visiting committees. Judith has served on the Advisory Committee to the NSF Director for SBE and the Board of Directors of SSRC. In retirement she has served on the Committee of International Advisors for the SSRC Vietnam Population Survey, as a member of the AAAS On Call Scientists and their Committee on Scientific Freedom and Responsibility, and on the Advisory Committee for the American Association of Arts and Sciences project on Humanities Indicators.



Stonybrook University


Columbia University


Columbia University

Appointments & Affiliations

Distinguished Teaching Professor Emerita

Stonybrook University


American Association for the Advancement of Science; American Statistical Association; Association for Psychological Science

Elected Member

International Statistical Institute

Honors & Awards

Geoffrey Marshall Mentoring Award | 2006

Northeastern Association of Graduate Schools

Founders’ Award | 1997

American Statistical Association